UFC 202 Diaz vs. McGregor 2 (FULL FIGHT)

UFC 202 – Diaz vs. McGregor 2

UFC 202 – Diaz vs. McGregor 2

UFC 202 Diaz vs. McGregor 2 (FULL FIGHT)

UFC 202

UFC 202 Preliminary Fights

Main Event UFC 202

part 1

part 2

part 3


UFC 202: Diaz vs. McGregor 2 was a mixed martial arts event produced by the Ultimate Fighting Championship that was held on August 20, 2016 at T-Mobile Arena in Paradise, Nevada, part of the Las Vegas metropolitan area.[3]

This event was the first one under full control of WME-IMG, the new owner of the organization.[4]

The event was headlined by a welterweight rematch between The Ultimate Fighter 5 winner and former lightweight title challenger Nate Diaz and UFC Featherweight Champion Conor McGregor.[3]

The pairing previously met earlier in the year at UFC 196. McGregor was expected to challenge then UFC Lightweight Champion Rafael dos Anjos, but dos Anjos pulled out due to a broken foot only 11 days before the event. Diaz eventually replaced him and the bout was shifted to the welterweight division.[6] Diaz won the fight via rear-naked choke in the second round.[7] Their rematch was originally expected to take place at UFC 200, but everything changed during mid-April, as a disagreement between McGregor and the UFC, regarding his media schedule, led to his removal from the event and then Diaz was also pulled out.[8]

A bout between former UFC Light Heavyweight Championship challengers Anthony Johnson and Glover Teixeira was expected to serve as the co-main event for UFC on Fox: Holm vs. Shevchenko. However, Johnson pulled out one month before the event to tend to personal issues.[9] In turn, promotion officials elected to pull Teixeira from the card and the pairing was left intact and rescheduled to take place at this event.[10]

Dong Hyun Kim was expected to face Neil Magny at the event. However, Kim pulled out due to injury on July 12 and was replaced by Lorenz Larkin.[11][12]

A lightweight bout between Al Iaquinta and former welterweight title challenger Thiago Alves briefly linked to this event is now expected to be contested later this year at UFC 205.[13][14]

A welterweight contest between former WEC Welterweight Champion and former interim UFC Welterweight Champion Carlos Condit and Demian Maia, a former UFC Middleweight Championship challenger, was scheduled to take place at this event, but was moved a week later to headline an already scheduled FOX event.[15]

Sultan Aliev was expected to face Hyun Gyu Lim at the event. However, Aliev pulled out of the fight in early August citing a wrist injury.[16] Lim faced promotional newcomer Mike Perry.[17]

On August 5, Sean Strickland pulled out of his planned bout against Tim Means due to a knee injury.[18] He was replaced by promotional newcomer Sabah Homasi.[19]

The Ultimate Fighter: China winner Ning Guangyou tested positive for clenbuterol from an out-of-competition sample taken May 19, but USADA found he ingested the substance without fault or negligence. They reviewed the evidence of the case – Ning’s whereabouts, dietary habits and the lab reports showing “very low parts per billion concentrations” of the substance – and determined that it very likely came from tainted meat, as countries like Mexico and China have a high risk for meats contaminated with the substance. Ning will not face a suspension. He was expected to face Marlon Vera at this event, but due to this incident the bout was pushed back one week for UFC on Fox: Maia vs. Condit.[20]


Main Card
Weight classMethodRoundTimeNotes
WelterweightConor McGregordef.Nate DiazDecision (majority) (48-47, 47-47, 48-47)55:00
Light HeavyweightAnthony Johnsondef.Glover TeixeiraKO (punch)10:13
WelterweightDonald Cerronedef.Rick StoryTKO (head kick and punches)22:02
WelterweightMike Perrydef.Hyun Gyu LimTKO (punches)13:38
WelterweightTim Meansdef.Sabah HomasiTKO (punches)22:56
Preliminary Card (Fox Sports 1)
BantamweightCody Garbrandtdef.Takeya MizugakiTKO (punches)10:48
Women’s BantamweightRaquel Penningtondef.Elizabeth PhillipsDecision (unanimous) (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)35:00
FeatherweightArtem Lobovdef.Chris AvilaDecision (unanimous) (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)35:00
Women’s StrawweightCortney Caseydef.Randa MarkosVerbal Submission (armbar)14:34
Preliminary Card (UFC Fight Pass)
WelterweightLorenz Larkindef.Neil MagnyTKO (elbows)14:08
WelterweightColby Covingtondef.Max GriffinTKO (punches)32:18
MiddleweightMarvin Vettoridef.Alberto UdaSubmission (guillotine choke)14:30


Enjoy the latest fights by watching them online at FightUFC